New ECA Member takes up duties: Viorel Ştefan (Romania) - EU monitor

EU monitor
Zaterdag 11 juli 2020

New ECA Member takes up duties: Viorel Ştefan (Romania)

Met dank overgenomen van Europese Rekenkamer i, gepubliceerd op donderdag 4 juli 2019.

On 1 July, Viorel Ştefan took up his duties as the new ECA Member for Romania.

Mr Ştefan has been appointed as an ECA Member for the period 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2025. He replaces George Pufan, the outgoing Member for Romania. In Romania, Mr Ştefan has held positions including Senator, Minister of Public Finance, and Member of the Chamber of Deputies, where he chaired the Committee for Budget, Finance and Banks.

The ECA’s College of Members, chaired by Klaus-Heiner Lehne i, President of the ECA, will meet shortly to determine Mr Ştefan’s exact duties. He will then be sworn in before the European Court of Justice. An updated organisation chart, along with Mr Ştefan’s CV and declaration of interests, will then be published on the ECA website:

The Members, nominated by their respective governments, are appointed by the Council of the EU after consultation with the European Parliament. Their terms of office are renewable.

The ECA operates as a collegiate body of 28 Members, one from each Member State. They are required by the Treaty to perform their duties entirely independently and in the general interest of the EU.